Running at Night

As my feet pound the asphalt

As sweat glazes my body

I run into a void of darkness

My mind is empty

My heart racing yet at ease

With the midnight moon as my guardian

I run into the night and feel free

Fully a part of the darkness

I run from no one but me

Away from my problems, emotions, and pain

A momentary escape in the darkness

As my feet slow

As I wipe the sweat away

Everything slowly returns

My problems, my pain, my overwhelming thoughts

But I know there’s a temporary escape

Until then I maintain my sanity

Then when the time comes again

I will start on a run of freedom

In the darkness

of the night

Leave a Reply

