Day 8: Distortion

It doesn’t matter what other people say

Their judgments are irrelevant

Because I am my harshest critic

My sense of myself is distorted

Even though I know this

I continue to distort myself

Look at that face

Look at that body

How could someone ever love you?

But I dismiss these voices

I try so hard

But at my most vulnerable they bombard me

and have their voices heard

However I know they are lying

Because they see a distortion of me

Not who I am

I overcame these voices

And I hope everyone can overcome their own

Or else they will stay distorted

And never see the beautiful truth

of who they truly are

Leave a Reply

